Musical Sunday

  • Johannes Brahms: Piano Quartets op. 25, op. 26 and op. 60
  • Timo Jouko Herrmann & Marcus Imbsweiler
  • Literature

As if in a compositional frenzy, the 22-year-old Brahms threw himself into chamber music, and specifically into a hitherto rather neglected genre: the piano quartet. Instead of a single work, he conceived three at once, which together measure an entire panorama of human passions: Melancholy, despair, anger, but also exuberant joie de vivre and humor. Brahms found a convincing final version for all three pieces only after they had matured considerably. While op. 25 and op. 26 are among his most popular chamber music works, especially because of their “Hungarian” finales, the highly emotional, autobiographically based C minor quartet op. 60 has remained an insider tip to this day.

At Musical Sunday at the DAI Heidelberg, two enthusiasts of the music will have their say and dive deep into the respective works with the audience: Marcus Imbsweiler publishes novels, including stories about composers; Timo Jouko Herrmann is a composer, violinist and guest conductor of the Heidelberg Symphony Orchestra.

In cooperation with Heidelberger Frühling

Brahms’ piano quartets can be heard on the following dates in the Heidelberg Spring Music Festival to be heard:

Ticket Prices (plus fees)

Regular price 11,90 €
Reduced price 9,90 €
Member price 6,90 €

Box Office at a premium