Musical Sunday

  • Gustav Mahler: 4th Symphony in G major
  • Timo Jouko Herrmann & Marcus Imbsweiler
  • Literature

Mahler considered his 4th Symphony, composed at the turn of the 20th century, to be one of his best works. At its premiere in Munich in 1901, the work caused great astonishment among many listeners. Instead of the expected pathetic, opulent-sounding new opus, Mahler delivered a rather restrained composition of a classicist nature, which ends with a heartfelt soprano solo on the poem Das himmlische Leben from the collection Des Knaben Wunderhorn. Today, this symphony is among Mahler’s most popular works.

Two enthusiasts of music have their say here: Marcus Imbsweiler publishes novels, including stories about composers; Timo Jouko Herrmann is a composer, violinist and guest conductor of the Heidelberg Symphony Orchestra.

Foto: Sarina Chamatova

Ticket Prices (plus fees)

Regular price 11,90 €
Reduced price 9,90 €
Member price 6,90 €

Box Office at a premium